42 Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Hey you Muskrats! Get Outta My Pond!

Long story short….

I had caught all my remaining ducks (only 4 left) except Priscilla, to keep them safe from a bobcat… I stalked her several times during the day and for an hour last night but she’s very smart, spry and wary so I couldn’t catch her.

I went down at first light this morning to make sure she made it through the night without “Bob”cat getting her.

She was chasing a muskrat and made him get out of the pond and wouldn’t let him back in! I wished I had my camera.

It gives me great hope for her survival anyway šŸ™‚

20130405_170124

4 responses to “Hey you Muskrats! Get Outta My Pond!

  1. kaelindesign April 23, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    I am highly jealous of your duck. We had muskrats in our pond once. They dug out the side of our pond which destroyed the fence, flooded our neighbor’s property. A severe mess!

    I should of just installed guard ducks and been done with it. šŸ˜€

    • 42things April 24, 2013 at 4:15 pm

      yeah, these muskrats are trying to destroy the pond… we are doing what we can… they are not classified as a pest here, so it’s illegal to hunt and trap them, we just have to keep filling in the holes.

      what we need now are geese! Those will run anything off!

      • Kaelin April 24, 2013 at 5:32 pm

        Or foxes, if you can convince them. A pair of foxes took out the beavers on the creek on my neighbor’s property. You could see them sunning themselves on top of the burrow, and then… no more beaver. Can you relocate them?

      • 42things April 24, 2013 at 8:46 pm

        well, I don’t know, but I’m sure the foxes would like my ducks equal to some muskrat šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

