42 Things

Just another WordPress.com site

Addicted to making Tote Bags

I’ve made 4 since yesterday afternoon… I won’t show you the first one I made, lets just say, good concept, horrible embarrassing execution.

 

These are all made from upholstery samples and previously owned bed linens (better than used sheet, right?)

 

in order to make one of the panels large enough for this third one I had to piece it together…

 

turned out wonderful.

 

for those of you wondering, no, I have never had sewing lessons and I don’t know how to use patterns.Β  everything I’ve ever sewn has come out of my head.

 

 

17 responses to “Addicted to making Tote Bags

  1. Hilda January 4, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    they look awesome! I hate using patterns too.

  2. guiltfreefido January 4, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Those look great, did you use interfacing? I have a hard time with you know, even edges and handles the same length and ok, cutting out a square so it’s not really an octagon.

    • 42things January 4, 2012 at 3:50 pm

      no interfacing… I probably should have, but I don’t even know what that is for so o.O

      the beauty of samples is they are already cut into useable shapes πŸ™‚ yay, minimal cutting.

      but I do need a cutting mat and a roller cutter if I want to continue in this vein.

      *runs off to axeman to buy that HUGE cutting mat I left behind the last time*

  3. kaelindesign January 4, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    They look awesome! I suggest for the next batch using fusible fleece, or fusible quilt batting. That stuff is fusible on both sides, so minimal shifting, but totally lovely padded sides. Perfect for library bags.

    Just cut the fusible bits a bit smaller than the finished size, and fuse to the lining, then sew and turn like you normally do, then fuse to the outside. Easy peasey, and lots of fun!

  4. Alicia January 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    I like the way you create. The colours are just perfect too. Keep it up!

  5. Sara January 4, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    neato. I like the woodgrain especially.

  6. Katrina January 5, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Oooo nice! I’m loving that plaid on the second one.

  7. Katy January 8, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Wow! These look fabulous jo!

Leave a Reply

